San Francisco

Let me just tell you a little something about San Fran…  It’s absolutely phenomenal.  I had the fabulous opportunity to visit the beautiful city this past January and it is now one of my favorite places ever (right behind Camden Yards and Busch Gardens Williamsburg haha).

Here’s the story.  My dad had been planning a trip to San Francisco for business – he would be the only one going.  Then, the weekend before he was supposed to leave, our family was on our way to Tennessee for a funeral.  We’re all sitting in the car when my dad suggests that my older sister and I join him on his trip, “…if you’re not doing anything else this week.”

I am unashamed to admit to you that I nearly peed.

“Do not say that if you don’t mean it because I WILL come.”

As you can tell, he did mean it and we did end up going.  Despite it being crazy cloudy and misty while we were there, it was so much fun.  The fog didn’t make for very good Golden Gate Bridge pictures (I don’t have any because you literally can’t see the bridge in them at all), however it made for wicked cool pictures in Muir Woods aka The Forest Moon of Endor (WHAAAAT?!?!?).

FullSizeRender (1)

Yes, as if I weren’t enough of a nerd, you now know that I’m a bit of a Star Wars freak as well.  Sorry not sorry.

Anyway, we also visited some Full House landmarks such as Alamo Square, which is where the family is seen having a picnic at the end of the theme song.  Being there was pretty surreal.

IMG_1154IMG_1152

While these two things were very cool, my favorite part of San Francisco was just hanging out around Fisherman’s Wharf.  It’s absolutely breath-taking.  I loved adventuring around there with my sister and exploring all the different shops.  Oh, and we went to In-N-Out Burger in Fisherman’s Wharf, which was so choice.  I highly recommend that you dine there if you are ever in an area that has one.

Lastly, we visited Alcatraz Island – an old, shut down prison that is on an island in the San Francisco Bay.  It is perhaps the most famous federal prison ever, and is especially known for housing gangster Al Capone.  It was basically where the worst of the worst went.  I saw a t-shirt in the gift shop that read, “People who break the rules go to prison.  People who break the prison rules go to Alcatraz.”

It was very cool being inside where the cells were, mainly because I felt like I was in The Shawshank Redemption (great movie, by the way.  If you haven’t seen it, see it), but honestly my favorite part of being at Alcatraz was the view of the city that we got from the island.

FullSizeRender

San Francisco is definitely one of the most beautiful cities I’ve been to.  I love it because of all the hills.  When you stand somewhere far away and look at a city that’s built on hills, I promise you won’t be disappointed.

That’s just my two cents on San Fran.  Have you ever been?  Let me know what you thought by leaving a comment! 🙂

Stay sweet,

Caroline

Leave a comment